Opinion and Issues

PR system has come to stay

Views - 135 Thursday, 3 January 2019 01:00

I allude to the recent article by R.W.W appearing in the press under the caption ‘Right to vote’. Since the writer apparently finds the Proportionate Representation (PR) voting system as the main culprit for the existing political culture in our


Wickremesinghe’s reappointment as Sri Lanka PM opens door to the ‘Indo-Pacific’

Views - 254 Thursday, 3 January 2019 00:58

www.eurasiareview.com: For the past two months Sri Lanka’s deeply divided political community has been fighting to protect democracy in one of the oldest democracies in Asia. One side wants a general election to elect a new Parliament claiming the


Should houses have been built at all out of taxpayers’ funds?

Views - 321 Thursday, 3 January 2019 00:53

The question is not “who built more houses?” President Ranasinghe Premadasa, his son Minister of Housing Sajith Premadasa or the latest claimant for building houses, Champika Ranawaka. This is the question that has been highlighted as a one-way t


The biggest security threats in 2019

Views - 51 Thursday, 3 January 2019 00:49

REUTERS: With an ongoing trade war between the United States and China, Russian military posturing in Eastern Europe at its greatest since the Cold War and the most unpredictable US administration in living memory, 2019 may offer no shortage of strat


Our vulnerability to climate risk: Second only to Puerto Rico

Views - 357 Wednesday, 2 January 2019 00:00

On 4 December, German Watch published its Climate Risk Index (CRI) listing for 2019, based on data collected for year 2017 at Munich Re, the reinsurer. Out of 182 countries considered, we, Sri Lanka, who jumped 94 slots from 98th in listing based on


Sri Lankan economy in 2018 and 2019 outlook

Views - 1581 Wednesday, 2 January 2019 00:00

We are at the beginning of a new year with new hopes. As a country, where are we now? What were our achievements and what we missed in the previous year? What would be our targets for the New Year and what would be the possible challenges? Everyone


Revolution 4.0: An intriguing case of the man and machine

Views - 238 Wednesday, 2 January 2019 00:00

We sway on the cusp of a technological revolution that will forever reconstruct the very fabric of our society, the way we live, work and socialise with one another. The transformation that will most certainly sweep us off our feet is one that we are


Employment: Is it an imperative for today’s youth?

Views - 378 Wednesday, 2 January 2019 00:00

A strange, inexplicable situation that had started creeping up slowly is now progressing rapidly. Young people are appearing to be shying away from work. The initial rush of interest in applying for a position that may be advertised or heard of throu


Christmas chats…

Views - 287 Wednesday, 2 January 2019 00:00

Colombo turns festive in December; the bracing air, lively parties, Christmas decorations, bright lights, visiting Sri Lankans in their flashy casual clothes; the nondescript city by the ocean is transformed. After months of lean sales, the big stor


Expect 2019 to test global stability

Views - 45 Wednesday, 2 January 2019 00:00

John Lloyd REUTERS: The resignation of US Defence Secretary James Mattis stands not only as a radical disassociation from the actions of the president he served, but as a foreboding for the future, a warning for 2019 and beyond. And, for all the assu


Infrastructure projects – Good ones and bad ones

Views - 486 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:02

A top Government official recently said: “The planned Light Rail Transit (LRT) system in Colombo will need Government subsidies and Sri Lanka should also look at other options such as improving the bus service.” If this is a precursor to abandoni


Circles of political vengeance and end of Yahapalanaya!

Views - 120 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:00

Maithripala Sirisena left Mahinda Rajapaksa four years ago, after a hopper treat, because he was not given due recognition as a Minister, and the PM position. That may be true. Otherwise, he even voted for the 18th Amendment to allow the possibility


Marketing a political candidate in 2019: Is it right?

Views - 364 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:00

If we track back at last year, the highest share of voice topic was undoubtedly ‘politics’. Many are speculating now that 2019 will be the year of elections, starting from the Provincial Council elections to General elections and subsequently the


Making sense of Sri Lanka’s 2018 political crisis

Views - 133 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:00

http://www.eurasiareview.com: President Maithripala Sirisena’s sacking of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe on 26 October ended the National Unity Government, which was formed in 2015. The President installed an administration headed by former Pr


Should individual MPs who cross over on moral grounds be expelled?

Views - 37 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:00

There are those who argue that the individual conscience should be paramount in its dictates and that parties should not therefore be allowed to expel from office those who have crossed over from the party to another political party or even choose to


Impeachment or censure; a moral imperative

Views - 333 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:00

After the unenthusiastic reinstatement of Ranil Wickremesinghe as Prime Minister, the President delivered a belligerent broadside to the UNF hierarchy. He made some revealing pronouncements. They represented the core values of the man we mistakenly


Deterrent punishment to vandalism is a categorical imperative

Views - 47 Tuesday, 1 January 2019 00:00

We read the dismal, heart-breaking and saddening news that several Buddha statues had been damaged in Mawanella over the past few days. We all stand witness to the mindless devastation of human values and principles of Buddhism – the sacred teachin


The world we want for a loved land

Views - 203 Monday, 31 December 2018 01:50

I write for many of us. But not as many as one would hope. Since we’re badly divided on community, polity, unity. However, it’s false hope at best or flagrant hypocrisy at worst to think anyone has all the answers – and is actually right about


Binod Chaudhary’s wisdom: You can make it big if driven by an undiminished passion for achievement

Views - 7273 Monday, 31 December 2018 00:00

I recommend Binod Chaudhary’s autobiography – ‘Making It Big’ – to all readers. As the title says, the message is that if it is small now, make it big. By implication, it also advises us to make it bigger if it is big and the biggest if it


Man is born free but corrupt political system has chained us without any mercy (Part 1)

Views - 116 Monday, 31 December 2018 00:00

Our representative democracy and bureaucratic organisations need vast changes. Both are suffering from increasing deficiencies and legitimacy too. It looks as if we are close to being a ‘failed state’. The country therefore is facing enormous com


Behind the Mawanella bigotry

Views - 134 Monday, 31 December 2018 00:00

Who were the bigots who broke Buddha statues in Mawanella and in other places? There are only two possible answers to this question. Either, they were a bunch of urban hoodlums seeking sadistic pleasure from destroying religious icons, or handpicked


Sri Lanka: Presidential paroxysms – Analysis

Views - 211 Monday, 31 December 2018 00:00

http://www.eurasiareview.com: 34 days after President Maithripala Sirisena plunged the country into an unprecedented political crisis by dissolving the Parliament on 9 November, the Supreme Court (SC) of Sri Lanka ruled, on 13 December, that Presiden


A critique of President Sirisena’s decision to hold ministerial portfolio

Views - 172 Monday, 31 December 2018 00:00

It appears to be that President Sirisena continues to violate the Constitution. Prior to the 19th Amendment to the Constitution according to Article 44(2), “President may assign any subject or function to himself”. Since this provision was withd


“Exciting 19” for excellent 2019

Views - 765 Monday, 31 December 2018 00:00

A refreshing 31,557,000 seconds in 2019 are with us. A brand new year invites us not only to have brand new thoughts but to convert them into grand actions. As usual, people tend to have New Year resolutions. My suggestion is to go beyond scant resol


Taliban changes as State power comes within grasp

Views - 93 Saturday, 29 December 2018 00:10

Given the global powers’ very determined efforts to bring peace to war-torn Afghanistan by talking to the Taliban, it is likely that the radical Islamic insurgent group will be in the seat of power sooner or later. The Taliban are no strangers to


CIMOGG commits hara-kiri

Views - 143 Saturday, 29 December 2018 00:10

The Citizens’ Movement for Good Governance (CIMOGG) decided recently to silence its own voice. What follows, for the purposes of record, is a brief summary of what CIMOGG endeavoured to do during the 16 plus years of its existence. CIMOGG was form


The portfolio madness (thathva pissuwa) at Diyawanna and new challenges to political stability

Views - 201 Saturday, 29 December 2018 00:10

The failure of the executive presidential system and the chaos it can bring has been dramatically demonstrated in a different manner over the Sirisena-Mahinda attempted coup that took place recently. Previously, Sri Lank


A balancing act: Can Sri Lanka overcome regional income inequalities?

Views - 189 Friday, 28 December 2018 00:00

Although Sri Lanka has managed to reduce income poverty from 26.1% in 1990/91 to 4.1% by 2016, income inequality has remained unchanged for more than four decades. The richest 20% enjoy more than half the total household income of the country, while


Tinker with Constitution or build economy?

Views - 140 Thursday, 27 December 2018 00:27

On 18 December, China celebrated the 40th anniversary of the official launch of the Great Deng Xiaoping’s economic reforms in 1978. China’s story since then from a large, poor and communist nation to a global economic powerhouse second only to US


The most wonderful time of the year?

Views - 152 Thursday, 27 December 2018 00:22

Since a few weeks the Christmas mood is on with many among us; one can see and hear it all around town with music, special sales and decorations. Like all over the world, Sri Lanka also indulges in Christmas-related activities independent of religiou


Today's Columnists

Lasantha, journalists and diplomats

Wednesday, 23 January 2019

We find scarce little to celebrate in a sullied land, marking our days remembering the tragedies that tell our blood-soaked history. In the troubled decades preceding, many, from the highest in the land to average citizens, have met with violent ends


Automation and machine learning: Helping organisations extract deeper value from data

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

The world is in the midst of a data explosion. Humans are generating an estimated 2.5 quintillion bytes of data every single day1, according to Forbes, and more data was created in the past two years than in all of human history. No wonder data now r


SL tourism: From TOM to experience the brand in 2019

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

Last week I had just crossed the border that separates Laos from Thailand and was on route via land to Thailand. My mind was on Laos – a country branded globally as ‘Simply Beautiful’ (backed by the ADB in 2018) to attract visitors into the cou


Questionable (or absurd) official report on poverty indicators

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

The latest Report issued by the Ministry of National Policies and Economic Affairs on ‘Poverty Indicators’ is both questionable and outrageous.1This Ministry is under the responsibility of the Prime Minister, Ranil Wickremesinghe. Most of the sta


Columnists More