Titans clinch inaugural Peterite Cricket League Sixes

Wednesday, 14 December 2011 00:03 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The  “Titans”  led by Shafiq Raheem and owned by Michel Elias, emerged as the first winner of the Inaugural Peterite  Cricket League  “Sixes” 2011, concluded at St. Peter’s  College grounds on Sunday.

The “Cup” Final hampered by rain and  bad light around 4.00 pm ,  was reduced  to 04 ball overs.

In the “Cup”  Final,  the “Titans”  batting first,  who scored 51/3   in 05 overs, beat the “Worriers”,  35/4 in 05 overs,  led by Anjelo Rajaratnam  and  owned by Kitto Fernandopulle.

In the ‘Bowl’  final the  “Gladiators”  (58/3 in 05) led by Ranmore Martinez and  owned by Roshan Dharmaratne, beat the “Spartans”   (57/2 in 05) by one run.  

The play-off for the 3rd place did not come off,   due to bad light. The “Vikings” led by Indunil  Anthony and the  “Romans” led by Malin Silva were declared as Joint Winners.

The Winner  “Titans” was awarded the brand new, Rev. Fr. Sunil Herman Perera  Memorial Challenge Trophy, donated by  Hareen and  Shamindra Marceline.

The runners-up, “Worriers” received the Austin Fernando Memorial Challenge trophy, donated by Travis Fernando.

Joint  Winners , “Vikings”  & “Romans” shared the Mahesh Kodikara Memorial trophy, donated by Niranjan Madawela.

The following special awards were  adjudicated  by Malik Mendis.

The Best Fielder, awarded the Dr. H.I.K. Fernando trophy, donated by Shafiq Raheem went to  Krishal Magage from the  “Titans”.

The Best Bowler,  awarded the Rumesh Ratnayake trophy,  donated by Krishan Kuruppu  went  to Angelo Emmanuel from the “Vikings”.

The Best Batsman, awarded the  Roy Dias Trophy, donated by Gihan Siriwardena  went to Lahiru  Milantha from the “Pirates”.     

The Man of the Final, awarded the  Darrel Wimalaratne Memorial Trophy,  donated by Damitha Gomes went to Shalindra Fernando from the “Titans”.

The Man-of-the-tournament awarded the Peterite – Platinum years Cricket 1978/81 trophy, donated by Micheal Elias went to  Anjelo Emmanuel from the “Vikings”.

Rev. Fr. Travis Gabriel,  Rector, St. Peters  College was the Chief  Guest at the post tournament  awards presentation.

The historic tournament was organized  and conducted by the Peterite Cricket Foundation, comprising, Roshan Anthony (President),  Niranjan Madawela (Vice President/ Chairman PCL), Chaminda  Perera  (Secretary),  Dion Savarimuthu,   (Treasurer) ,  Sheehan Wijetunga  and  Angelo Rajaratnam (both Co-ordinators),  Chanaka Gunawardena  (Tournament  Commissioner ),  Malinda Warnapura, Briesh Jeganathen and  Sherly Van Heer  (all Committee Members)