Sri Lanka name ODI, Twenty20 squad to play Windies women

Friday, 8 May 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

    Sri Lanka have named a 14 women squad to play against West Indies in four One Day Internationals (ODI) and three T20s starting next week. Opening batswoman Chamari Atapattu has again been chosen to lead the side while allrounder Eshani Lokusuriyage will be her deputy. West Indies women cricketers have already arrived in Colombo and are participating in a training camp ahead of the first ODI to be played next week Wednesday. The Windies women 14 member team includes recalled players Stacy Ann King and Afy Fletcher, as well as rookie all-rounder Chinelle Henry. West Indies have not played 50-over cricket since last November when they lost to Australia 0-4 while Sri Lanka’s last game was in January, beaten 3-0 by Pakistan. Sri Lanka lead West Indies in the head-to-head battle – 13 wins in 24 games – but they have lost seven of the last 10 matches. Their T20 record against West Indies stands at 12 losses in 15 games. The last three ODIs on the tour will account towards the ICC Women’s Championship, where West Indies are ranked fifth on the points table and Sri Lanka are at seventh. Sri Lanka squad: Chamari Attapattu (capt), Prasadini Weerakkody, Nipuni Hansika, Sanduni Abeywickrema, Dilani Manodara, Shashikala Siriwardene, Eshani Kaushalya, Sripali Weerakkody, Ama Kanchana, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Lasanthi Madushani, Chathurani Gunewardene, Maduri Samuddhika.