Sri Lanka face Australia in rugby sevens pool stage

Friday, 17 January 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Australia will face England, Sri Lanka and Uganda in the group stages of the Commonwealth Games rugby sevens, the Australian Associated Press reported. Australia, silver medallists in Delhi in 2010, were drawn in Pool D for the competition, avoiding heavyweights New Zealand and South Africa. Hosts Scotland were not as fortunate, drawn alongside perennial winners New Zealand in Pool A, along with Nigeria and Canada. South Africa is in Pool B along with Kenya, Cook Islands and Trinidad and Tobago, while Wales will face Samoa, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia in Pool C. The All Blacks have won all four Commonwealth gold medals so far. “For 16 years now, rugby sevens has enjoyed being a key part of the Commonwealth Games,” International Rugby Board chairman Bernard Lapasset said. “To compete alongside their compatriots in a multi-sport environment is a matter of huge pride and honour for our rugby players, who are making giant strides in this new Olympic era,” the Frenchman added. “We wish our rugby athletes all the best in this magnificent international event.” In all, 16 teams will take part in the two-day tournament at Ibrox – the home of fallen Scottish soccer team Rangers – on 26 and 27 July. Pool A: New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria Pool B: South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad and Tobago Pool C: Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia Pool D: England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda