School groupings announced for 2017

Monday, 5 December 2016 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Shamseer Jaleel

Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA) announced the groups for next year’s Singer League Under-20 rugby tournament which will begin in the third week of February 2017. Isipathana College will be defending their title.

The tournament will have a break of one week each for Sinhala and Tamil New year, the Good Friday week and the Vesak week. The first round of the tournament will see six teams segmented in two groups, with the top four teams advancing to the second round. Soon after the completion of the league, the top six teams and two teams in Division II will lock horns for the President Trophy knock out rugby tournament

Division I

Segment 1A

Isipathana, Royal, St Peter’s, St Joseph’s, Dharmaraja and St. Anthony’s

Segment 2A

St Thomas, Science, Trinity, Wesley, Zahira, Prince of Wales