Provinces given special grant for development from Sri Lanka Cricket

Wednesday, 5 September 2012 01:30 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The seven provinces of Sri Lanka were granted Rs. 1 million each for the development of cricket in their respective areas. Sri Lanka Cricket President Upali Dharmadasa together with his executive committee invited the Hon sports minister to hand over these cheques to the respective stakeholders at an event held coinciding with the final of the most successful SLPL. The Winner of the SLPL – Uva Next were awarded Rs. 2.5 million and the runner- up Nagenahira Naga’s got Rs. 1.5 million respectively.

Furthermore SLC also distributed cricket gear worth Rs. 900,000 to 22 districts for the development of cricket.

Dharmadasa stated, “Sri Lanka Cricket hopes to transform the Sri Lankan Domestic cricketing outlook, from domestic level to International level. With greater things in mind during their period, I together with the executive committee have decided to fund the districts and the provinces by rewarding them for their hard work with funds and cricket materials to administer, manage, and play cricket in their respective areas.”

Furthermore he stated, “In the years to come the franchises of the Sri Lanka Premiere League will step forward in a big way to invest further with not only the elite provincial teams but also become an integrated part of the grass root level cricket and its infrastructure that shall be the breeding grounds of up- and – coming crickets, to showcase their talents and skills like Akila Dhanajaya who sprang out from the SLPL.”

Representatives of all franchise owners were present to witness this colourful event, which ended with the distribution of an Administrative Grant of Rs. 100,000 to all the provinces and districts by the members of the Executive Committee and Sri Lanka Cricket CEO Ajit Jayasekara.

After the event all stake holders of the respective provinces and districts were invited to experience the atmosphere of the SLPL finals between Nagenahira Nagas and Uva Next.