MLH emerge Carrom Champions once again

Friday, 8 May 2015 19:03 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • Wins 3rd Inter-Hotel Carrom Tournament 2015


Mount Lavinia Hotel Carrom Team – standing from left: L.D. Deshani, Gemunu Weerasooriya, Pradeep Dharmabandu (President – Sports Club), N.D. Kodithuwakku, Endra Nalawangsa, K.A.G. Hemapala, H.M.N. De Silva and B.G.A. Rajapakshe. Seated from left: H.T.V. Duminda, Chithra Padmini, P.M.M.S. Abeysingha, L.P.D. Chandimal, D.T. Pushpakumara and M. Priyankara Peiris

The Carrom team of Mount Lavinia Hotel emerged Champions at the 3rd Inter-hotel Carrom Championship held on 21 April. The team secured the coveted awards winning all the main categories; the Men’s and Women’s Single, Men’s and Women’s Double as well as the Mixed Doubles category.

The team comprising 13 members from a cross section of departments were determined to prove themselves the best from the very beginning of the tournament. “The team was dedicated and focused and spent many an evening after duty practicing at the Sports Club,” commented Harinda Weerasinghe, Resident Manager, Mount Lavinia Hotel. “Their hard work has paid off and we are proud of their victory. We also won the Travel Trade Carrom Championships and we hope that the team will continue this winning streak,” he added.

H.T.V. Duminda and D.T. Pushpakumara won the Men’s Single event. The women’s Single event was won by N.D. Kodithuwakku while P.M.M.S. Abeysingha became the First runner-up in the same category. M. Priyankara Peiris and D.T. Pushpakumara clinched the Men’s Double category while N.D. Kodithuwakku and Endra Nalawangsa emerged winners at the Women’s Double category.

H.T.V. Duminda and P.M.M.S. Abeysingha won the Mixed Double event for Mount Lavinia Hotel. The other team members were K.A.G. Hemapala, L.P.D. Chandimal, L.D. Deshani, Chithra Padmini, H.M.N. De Silva, B.G.A. Rajapaksha and Gemunu Weerasooriya

The Inter-Hotels Carrom Championship was organised by the Sri Lanka Carrom Federation for the third year and Mount Lavinia Hotel was placed 1st Runners-up in the two previous years. The team beat Galadari Hotel to secure  the championship this year.