Lanka Cavaliers take on MCA Committee on Saturday

Friday, 21 July 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Lanka Cavaliers, celebrating their 20th anniversary, has brought in several new recruits in order to wrest back the Tyrone de Silva Challenge Trophy from the MCA Committee at their 14th annual cricket encounter on Saturday, 22 July at the MCA Grounds, commencing at 10.00 a.m.

In the previous encounter that took place on 31 July 2016 at the MCA grounds, the MCA Committee emerged victorious by six wickets. 

The series was inaugurated in 2004 and after 13 encounters, the tally stands at eight wins for MCA and three wins for the Lanka Cavaliers. In 2006, the match ended in a tie and in 2014 it was a joint win. The special awards on offer are for the Best Batsman, Bowler, Fielder and Man of the Final. The former MCA President, who donated the trophy during his tenure, will be the Chief Guest. 

The teams 

MCA Committee  (from left): Niran Mahawatte (Captain), Roshan Iddamalgoda, Neil Perera, Mahesh Wijewardena, Ashley Ratnayake, Ramesh Schafter, Wasanthalal Fernando, Nalin Wickramasinghe,  Mahesh de Alwis, Sirosha Gunatillake, Sanjaya Wijesinghe, Sujeewa de Silva, Duminda Pinto, P.K. Abeygunasekera and Achira Perera. 

Lanka Cavaliers (from left): Nalliah Deverajan (Captain), Nishantha de Silva (WK), Sajeewa Silva, Basil Jayawardena, Waruna Waragoda, Manoj Perera, Asanga Perera, Lt. Col. Manjula Kariyapperuma,  Mahesh Wijenayake, Riaz Farook, Niranjan Dabare, Sudarshana Guruge, Renuka Nonis, Ravi Subasinghe and Sanjaya Attanayake.