Kanrich Finance ousts LB Finance to clinch MIDS Trophy

Tuesday, 4 October 2016 00:13 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

dft-24-06Kanrich Finance ‘A’ winning captain Mahela Wijayalath (second from left) holds the MIDS Trophy after receiving it from Chief Guest Mighty Sports Managing Director Sirosha Gunatillake (third from left). Others present from left: Guest of Honour Nalin Wickramesinghe - General Secretary, Anura Tennakoon, Niran Mahawatte - President and Sujeewa de Silva - Tournament Committee Chairman 



Three solid half-centuries from Damith Priyadarshana, Sahan Wijeratne and Kavindu Kulasekera, along with a fine spell of medium-fast bowling from Dilesh Buddhika, lifted Kanrich Finance ‘A’ to a well-deserved three-wicket win over favourites LB Finance ‘A’, in the MCA ‘B’ Division 50-over league tournament final to win the MIDS Trophy, after play concluded at the MCA grounds last Saturday. 

 LB Finance, sent into bat first, slid to 98 for 5 due to some careless batting with all the players trying to hit Kanrich opening bowler Dilesh Buddhika (10-67-5) out of the ground. All eyes were on Sri Lanka’s batting sensation Kusal Mendis (10), who fell cheaply to Buddhika after hitting a six and a four. Buddhika got rid of in-form batsmen Sadeera Samarawickrama (17), skipper Lakshan Rodrigo (9), Chathuranga Kumara (26) and top-scorer Charith Sudaraka (44). Thanks to a gutsy unbroken ninth-wicket stand of 58 runs in 35 balls between Rajeewa Weerasinghe (27 not out) and Keshan Wijeratne (37 not out) LB Finance finished with a respectable 237 for 8 in 50 overs. 

dft-24-05The captain of runners-up LB Finance ‘A’ , Lakshan Rodrigo (third from left) receiving the trophy from the MCA President Niran Mahawatte (second from right)  



 Kanrich Finance got off to a terrible start, quickly losing their openers Kasun Vidura (1), who hit back-to-back centuries before the final, and Shehan Fernando (11). 

 The damage was repaired by Pawan Wickramasinghe (25) and Damith Priyadarshana (55) with a 60-run stand from 63 balls for the third wicket (70 for 3 in 12.5 overs). Experienced campaigner Rajeewa Weerasinghe broke the partnership and got rid of Wickramasinghe and Priyadarshana, getting LB Finance back in the game (96 for 4 in 16.3 overs). 

 Kanrich Finance, who had reached a decisive junction, took the correct turn and drove towards victory, steered by Sahan Wijeratne (65 in 86 balls, inclusive of 7 fours) and Kavindu Kulasekera (61 not out in 88 balls inclusive of a six and 4 fours), as they put on 125 runs for the fifth wicket in 158 balls (221 for 5 in 42.5 overs). 

 Light was fast deteriorating but Kanrich was well ahead through the D&L method. LBF fought desperately and got two more wickets (228 for 7 in 44.2 overs) but Kulasekera stood firm alongside No. 09 batsman Alankara Asanka to take Kanrich to victory in the 48th over. 

dft-24-04Man of the Final Dilesh Buddhika from Kanrich Finance ‘A’ receiving his award from Guest of Honour Anura Tennakoon  


 The highest wicket-taker in the tournament, Charith Sudaraka, bowled his heart out for LB Finance but went wicket-less.

 Match Referee Upali Warnapura adjudged Kanrich Finance opening bowler Buddhika the Man of the Match.   

 The other three special awards based on performances up to the semi-final stage went to Charith Sudaraka from LB Finance (six matches, 48 overs, 181 runs and 14 wickets) and a double to Kanrich Finance opening batsman Kasun Vidura (six innings, 431 runs, three not outs, avg. 143.7 inclusive of two centuries and two half-centuries), who was the Best Batsman and Man of the Tournament. 

    The tournament awards presentation was graced by Sirosha Gunatillake (Chief Guest), the Managing Director of Mighty Sports, agents for MIDS sports equipment, President of the Association of Cricket Umpires and a MCA Executive Committee Member, Anura Tennakoon (Guest of Honour) and MCA officials Niran Mahawatte (President), Nalin Wickramasinghe (General Secretary) and Sujeewa de Silva (Chairman of the Tournament Committee). 

Chief Scores 

LB Finance ‘A’ - 237/8 (50.0) (Sadeera Samarawickrama 17, Shasheen Fernando 15,  Chathuranga Kumara 26, Charith Sudaraka 44, Priyamal Perera 19, Sahan Arachchige 15, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 27 not out, Keshan Wijeratne 37 not out, Dilesh Buddhika 5/67, Roshan Laksiri 2/25)

 Kanrich Finance ‘A’: 238/7 (47.2) (Pawan Wickramasinghe 25, Damith Priyadarshana 55, Sahan Wijeratne 65, Kavindu Kulasekera 61 not out, Shiran Fernando 3/43, Rajeewa Weerasinghe 2/26)