HFC Kurunegala netball champions for 10th consecutive year

Wednesday, 9 August 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel

Making Kurunegala proud, the girls from Holy Family Convent (HFC) emerged overall schools netball champions for a record 10 years in a row at the 26th Milo All-Island Schools Netball Championship which concluded at the Vincent Dias Stadium in Badulla recently.

The girls from Kurunegala also won two more age groups (Under-13 and Under-19) and secured third place in the Under-17 segment. These victories gave them the points to secure the overall title for the 10th consecutive year.

HFC Kurunegala outclassed Visakha Vidyalaya Colombo 35-24 in the Under-19 grand final. Visakha Vidyalaya Colombo bagged the Under-17 segment with another close 29-22 win over Kalutara Balika Vidyalaya.

Ranjan Wijeyaratne MV Buttala accounted for the ‘B’ Division Championship.

Susima Bandara from HFC Kurunegala was crowned the best player in the Under-19 segment while Sanudni Thuduwage from Visakha Vidyalaya won the Under-17 award. In the junior category Dilani Ravihari from Kalutara Balika Vidyalaya’s Under-15 team and Dulanjali Fernando from the HFC Kurunegala Under-13 unit won the best players award. The girls from Kurunegala have been continuing their success at all-island netball since 2008.