Eight teams qualify for Red Bull Campus Cricket 2015

Tuesday, 12 May 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

After a highly competitive three days, eight campus cricket teams qualified for the national quarterfinals of the Sri Lankan edition of Red Bull Campus Cricket 2015.


The preliminary rounds held between 7 and 9 May at the Thurstan College Grounds featured a number of exciting matchups as the next generation of Sri Lankan cricket put on a show of extraordinary talent in the country’s most popular sport.



The first day saw ACBT beat CINEC with a comfortable margin of 57 runs along with IIHE beating APIIT by a mere 13 runs. Although rain delayed the second day, KDU emerged victorious over Auston by 19 runs while SLIIT edged VHE with a narrow win of only two runs. The third and final day of the preliminary rounds saw a clinical all-round performance by BMS, who beat IIT by six wickets while ANC were the last team through to the quarterfinals with a three-wicket win over NSBM. Defending champions and runners-up ICBT and RIC were given byes, enabling automatic qualification to the quarterfinal round.

These eight teams will now play each other in the National quarterfinals scheduled to take place on 5 and 6 September. Each team will battle for a spot in the semifinals and thereafter, the national finals which will determine the team who represents Sri Lanka at the 2015 Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals in India this October.


Now in its fourth successful year, Red Bull Campus Cricket is an international college tournament, giving wings to aspiring young cricketers in 200 universities across eight cricketing nations – Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the UAE.


To catch up on the scores from each match, log on to Batsman.com, the official statistics partner for Red Bull Campus Cricket 2015. Fans can also vote for their favourite player in the People’s Choice Trophy, which will be awarded to the player with the most votes on Batsman.com at the end of the tournament.

To follow all the action from Red Bull Campus Cricket, like the official Facebook page, or visit www.redbullcampuscricket.com