Commercial Credit & Finance beats DFCC to win Mercantile Services Basketball League

Monday, 14 December 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Gayan Meedeniya sang his swan song for Mercantile Basketball after 15 years on a high note, as he Captained Commercial Credit & Finance PLC to a glorious 55/50 win over DFCC Bank at the 25th Mercantile Services Basketball Association League Tournament 2015, Mens “A” division Final, concluded at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium Complex on Friday.

The Final played at a furious pace, swung like a pendulum; DFCC taking the 1st quarter at 22/07; Commercial Credit got back to the game and reduced the lead, but was still trailing at 22/28 at half time; The 3rd quarter was a ruthless affair where the scores stood at 38 – all; Gayan Meedeniya and Gayan de Croos combined effectively to spear head Commercial Credit to a 5 points win at the long whistle (55/50)

Thus Commercial Credit remained unbeaten throughout the tournament scoring 05 wins against Union Assurance PLC (9/42), DFCC Bank (55/38), HNB (65/56), NTB (71/50) and Dialog Axiata 43/40.

DFCC only beaten by Commercial Credit, secured wins against NTB (67/59), Union Assurance (56/49) and Dialog Axiata (62/53).

Dialog Axiata won the play off for the 3rd place.

In the mens “B” division Final that proceeded, Sampath Bank PLC piped Sri Lankan Airlines by a single point, 59/58. Sri Lankan Airlines missed many as 15 free shots which cost them the title. 

At end of the 1st quarter the scorers stood at 12-12; Sampath Bank held a 4 point lead at half time 28/24; Sampath Bank maintained their 04 point lead at the end of the 3rd quarter (46/42)

Sampath Bank thus remained unbeaten. In the league stage, they scored wins over Ranawana (56/21), Sri Lankan Airlines (51/43),  Avon Guard (63/46) and Commercial Credit “B” 83/61 (Semi Final). 

The Sri Lankans only beaten by Sampath Bank scored wins against, Ranawana (53/44), Avon Guard (64/58) and MAS Holdings “Red” 76/65 (Semi Final).

Two more players bid adieu to Mercantile Basketball, both from Sampath Bank Chamira Ratnayake and Asanka Lellawala. 

In the play-off for the 3rd place, Commercial Credit & Finance PLC “B” beat MAS Holdings “Red” 76/71. 

Commercial Credit & Finance PLC bagged a ‘double’ when their women took the “A” division title, beating Seylan Bank 63/53 in the Final. 

On Thursday 10 December at the same venue the mens “C” division was won by the combined team from HSBC/HDPL, as they beat NDB Bank by 02 points (60/58); The mens “E” division went to WSO2, beating IFS, 58/38 

Minister of Sports Dayasiri Jayasekera, graced the “A” division Final and declared opened the new MSBA Web site.

MSBA presented a life time award to Balcon Fernando in recognition for his yeoman service rendered to the game for the past 25 years. 

The awards were presented by MSBA Officials Fizal Deva, President, Brawin Fernando, Basil Silva and Rimaz Hassan, all Vice Presidents; Tharindu Rupasinghe, Secretary, Manaram Bandara, Treasurer, Jonathan Armugam, Committee Member, Nishantha Wickramage, Patron and Asanga Amaratunga, President, SLBF.