Bradby golf today

Saturday, 14 May 2016 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel 

For the very first time, old Trinitians and old Royalists will tee off today at the Victoria Golf and Country resort competing for the G.C. Wickramasinghe trophy. This renowned captain of Royal rugby was part of the 1951 ‘dream team’. At the age of 83 this ‘Man of Steel’ personality still plays 18 holes of golf. A fitting tribute to a personality who continued a life in part of sport. 

Trinity alumni will host the inaugural golf encounter between the two rival schools by hosting the Royalists at Victoria Golf and Country Club at Rajawella. The inaugural tournament will be hosted this morning, the day of the second leg of the oldest continuously-running school rugby tournament in the world. This tournament will be played as two legs from next year onwards. The open handicaps will be lowered in future years to make it more competitive. This initial tournament however is open to all players with a valid handicap. 

Victoria Golf Club will award the trophy for the highest aggregate scorer, and attractive giveaways by sponsors will also cover prizes for the longest drive and closest to the pin. Stableford and shotgun starts from as many holes to accommodate three players in each flight will allow all to finish at the same time and enjoy fellowship thereafter. 

Overnight complimentary accommodation for the first registration at the Golf Club will allow for an early start and timely finish, letting the rugby game and batch reunions take centre stage.  The sponsors have also thrown in complimentary AC train tickets from Colombo, transportation to the Club, accommodation as well as Bradby tickets, for the initial registration.

For Royal College alumni: 

G.C.Wickrama-singhe – participating, not competing, Gihan Wickramasinghe, Arjun Fernando, Glen Mathew, Kapila Dandeniya, Priyanga Hapugalle and Jehaan Ismail.

For Trinity College alumni: Bimal Fernando, Fazley Azhar, Ravi Mediwake, Sathies Balasubramaniam, Srgaran Ganesh, Ravana Wijeyeratne, Michael Richardson and M. Sri Mahadevan.