Sri Lanka, China and Korea shortlisted for Asian Sevens 2019 hosting

Wednesday, 16 January 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sri Lanka ended as number 4 in 2018 missing oout on the HK Sevens 2019 

Asian Sevens Series 2019

By Shamseer Jaleel

According to a reliable source from Asian Rugby (AR), the three hosting nations have been shortlisted for the 2019 sevens circuit.

Two of the 2018 hosting countries, Sri Lanka and Korea, will continue, with Hong Kong dropping out due to commitments in their domestic plus fifteens rugby. This will allow China to chip in as the third hosting nation of the 2019 edition. The three leg event is likely to be worked off during the months of September and October.

The lower ties event was hosted in Singapore last year with UAE qualifying for the top end in 2019 while Malaysia who featured in the Asian Sevens 2018 will be demoted to the lower end due to their poor performance overall scoring the lowest points.

Japan won the three leg event in 2018 and retained the title as champions of Asia. Meanwhile Hong Kong and Philippines who ended on number 2 and 3 respectively will be playing at the Hong Kong Sevens 2019 in the tier 2 event which will see the 12 emerging teams locking horns which is played alongside the World Series event at the Hong Kong Stadium during April 2019.

Asian Sevens Trophy (qualifier) – 2019

Bangladesh, Brunei, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Laos, Nepal, Pakistan, Singapore, Thailand, Uzbekistan and Malaysia

Asian Sevens Series – 2019

China, Taipei, Hong Kong, Japan, UAE, Philippines, Korea and Sri Lanka