NEGC Captains Cup and Presidents Prize: Mervin Preena and Nayana Dehigama win

Monday, 12 April 2021 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Nayana Dehigama won the Presidents Prize

Mervin Preena won the Captains Cup

By Shamseer Jaleel 

Former Isipathana and national hockey player Mervin Preena won the Captains Cup while former Kingswoodian, Nayana Dehigama accounted for the President Prize at the Nuwara-Eliya Golf Club (NEGC) conducted Captains Cup and Presidents Prize yesterday. Veteran golfer Manjula Chandrasoma accounted for the Aitken Cup.

The NEGC Foursomes Men’s event was won by Romesh Abeyratne and Radesh Daluwatte on the initial day. Both accumulated 35 Stableford points. Michael Sathasivam and A. W. Reza came second with 33 Stableford points. Capt. Priyanga Hapugalla and Janaka Galangoda was placed third with 32 Stableford points. This event was organised for the very first time saw more than 40 golfers playing for honours. Closest to the PIN on the first day was won by Ravi (Jr.) Wijegunratne while Sathies Balasubramaniam won the longest drive which was counted in the first hole.

In Captains Cup which was interrupted by heavy rain on day two was decided with the maximum of 12 holes for each player. Mervin Preena Won the event in the Men’s segment while veteran banker Shafraz Zuhar was runner-up with Somanath Fernando was placed second runner-up.

Presidents Prize on the final day was won by Nayana Dehigama with Manjula Chandrosoma being the runner-up. The first runner-up was A. W. Reza. Third days nearest to the PIN was won by Dulitha Perera while Romesh Carvello won the Longest Drive event.

The Aitken Cup was won by Manjula Chandrasoma, who scored the highest points for the last two days. Ravindra (Jr.) Gooneratne was first runner-up while Aslam Mohideen was placed second runner-up.

 – Pix by Jim Shadrach –


Ahaliya Rajan 


Air Marshal Sudharshana Pathirana 


Imran Nazeer 


Mervin Preena