Milo Knockout President Trophy to kick off today

Saturday, 6 July 2019 00:58 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

President’s Trophy 2019 Schools Rugby team captains. From left: Janith Serasinghe (Isipathana College), Mursheed Zubair (Wesley College), Kavishka Bandara (Vidyartha College), Milan Weerasinghe (Kingswood College) and Bilal Hilmi (St. Peter’s College) - Pic by Ruwan Walpola

By Shamseer Jaleel

The 27th Milo Knockout Rugby Championship 2019 organised by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA) in collaboration with Nestle Lanka will kick-off today at the Royal Sports Complex.

Vidyartha, Wesley, Joes, Isipathana and Kingswood lock horns in the President Trophy. Meanwhile Ananda, Lumbini, Thurstan, Prince of Wales, Devapathiraja, St. Aloysius, St. Sylvester’s and Piliyandala will battle it out in the Premier trophy. St. John’s, Nalanda, Asoka Vidyalaya, Sri Sumangala Kandy, St. Thomas Matale, Ibbagamuwa Central, Lalith Athulathmudali and Carey will play for the Shield.

President trophy Quarter finals

Vidyartha and Wesley receive walk overs from non-participation by both Royal and St. Thomas.

6 July

St. Joseph’s vs. Isipathana          Royal Complex

7 July

Kingswood vs. St. Peter’s           Royal Complex

Semi finals

12 July

Wesley vs. Vidyartha               Royal Complex

13 July

Winners of quarter final 3 vs. 3

20 July

Final                           Royal Complex