Gayle, Russell, du Plessis, Fakhar among top international stars

Tuesday, 12 October 2021 02:54 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Chris Gayle

Andre Russell

Faf du Plessis

Fakhar Zaman

  • SLC releases names of 74 key players registered for LPL 2

Adil Rashid


T20 crowd pullers Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Faf du Plessis, Imran Thahir, Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shoaib Malik, Dawid Malan and Adil Rashid are among the 74 key international cricketers who have registered for the Player draft of Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2.

The registration of the international cricketers draft for LPL 2 commenced on 24 September and concluded on 7 October.

A total of 699 international cricketers have registered for the tournament which is scheduled to be held from 5-23 December.

Sri Lanka Cricket has issued a list of 225 players whose applications have been approved for the player draft which is scheduled to be held on 27 October.

An LPL franchise team is permitted to have a maximum of six foreign players in a squad comprising 20 players.      

SLC has published in its official website the following list of main international cricketers who have registered to participate in LPL 2:

  • Zimbabwe (3): Sikandar Raza, Craig Irwin, Sean Williams
  • West Indies (19): Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Ramdin, Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kemar Roach, Shai Hope, Kieran Powell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Fidel Edwards, Sheldon Cottrell, Fabian Allen, Chadwick Walton, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, and Alzarri Joseph
  • Pakistan (18): Anwar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Irfan, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohail Tanvir, Imam-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari, Haris Sohail, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, and Wahab Riaz
  • England (11): Laurie Evans, Luke Wright, Liam Plunkett, Dan Lawrence, Samit Patel, Steven Finn, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Sam Billings, Ollie Robinson, and Ravi Bopara
  • Bangladesh (8): Mehedi Hasan, Sohag Gazi, Shafiul Islam, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Imrul Kayes, Ebadat Hossain, and Mohammad Mahmudullah
  • South Africa (8): Bjorn Fortuin, Richard Levi, Wayne Parnell, Duanne Olivier, Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, and Morne Morkel
  • India (3): Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, and Vinay Kumar
  • Australia (2): James Faulkner and Chris Lynn
  • New Zealand (2): Mitchell McClenaghan and Neil Broom (ST)