Fernando’s spectacular innings pushes Hayleys past MAS Unichela

Thursday, 5 December 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Avishka Fernando, who was back in the side after a while, hit a sparkling 92 runs to guide the Hayleys Group to a thrilling five-wicket win with five deliveries to spare over MAS Unichela, in the 27th Singer-MCA Premier League 2020 T20 league, which commenced on 3 December. 

The morning match at the SSC grounds between Dimo and Sampath Bank had a delayed start and was reduced to 14 overs a side. 

Hashan Dumindu’s quick-fire 50 not out and the intelligent bowling of Nisala Tharaka (3 for 20) gave Dimo a heart-stopping four-run win over Sampath Bank. 

Rain kept on following LB Finance (the league and knockout winners) and John Keells, as the single game between the two teams at the MCA grounds was abandoned without a ball being bowled as part the ground was soggy and declared unfit to play on. 

Chief scores

SSC morning: Dimo beat Sampath Bank by four runs (match reduced to 14 overs a side due to wet ground conditions)

Dimo - 108/8 (14) (Hashan Dumindu 50 not out, Hasantha Fernando 3/17, Nuwanidu Fernando 2/05, Dasun Shanaka 2/21)

Sampath Bank - 104/9 (14) (Jewan Mendis 34, Nisala Tharaka 3/20, Ramesh Mendis 2/31)

SSC afternoon: Hayleys Group beat MAS Unichela by five wickets

MAS - Unichela - 164/8 (20) (Wanidu Hasaranga 39, Lahiru Madusanka 30, Hasitha Boyagoda 28, Chathuranga De Silva 4/21, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/29)

Hayleys - 168/5 (19.1) (Avishaka Fernando 92, Ron Chandraguptha 26, Chathuranga De Silva 24, Dhammika Prasad 2/29)

MCA morning: LB Finance vs. John Keells (no result), match abandoned without a ball being bowled due to water-logged ground) 

Remaining match card: 

Wednesday, 4 December: SSC (morning) - MAS Unichela vs. John Keells; SSC afternoon – Hayleys vs. LB Finance; MCA (morning) – Sampath Bank vs. SLC Emerging Team. 

Thursday, 5 December: MCA (morning) - John Keells vs. Hayleys  

Colts (morning) – LB Finance vs. MAS Unichela; Colts (afternoon) - SLC Emerging Team vs. Dimo. 

The semi-finals are scheduled to be played on Friday, 6 December and the final on Saturday, 7 December.