Dumindu clinches SSC Open title as Achini bags double

Wednesday, 25 September 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Dumindu Aberwickrama

 Achini Ratnasiri and Upuli samanthika Women doubles champion

Promising 16-year-old Dumindu Aberwickrama beat former national Men’s Doubles champion and South Asian Games silver and bronze medallist Hasitha Chanaka to lift the Men’s Singles title at the SSC All-Island Open Badminton Championships, played at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) courts in Colombo recently. 

Abeywickrama, the fourth seed, beat the 35-year-old top seed 21-16, 21-16 to clinch the crown.

In the women’s singles, former national champion Achini Rathnasiri had it easy when second seed Nadeesha Gayanthi retired during the first set in the final.

On her way to the final, Rathnasiri, a three-time national champion, defeated Kavindika de Silva in the semifinals before outplaying veteran star Chandrika de Silva in the quarterfinals

Doubles specialist Chanaka and his partner Rajitha Dahanayake won the Men’s Doubles final after defeating Chiran Sudeera and Lahiru Weerasinghe 20-22, 21-13, 21-16.

Chanaka, in his third final at this year’s SSC open, teamed up with Upuli Weerasinghe to overcome Rajitha Dahanayake and Achini Rathnasiri to win the Mixed Doubles title.

In the Women’s Doubles final, Rathnasiri and Upuli Weerasinghe received a walkover from Chandrika de Silva and Kavindika de Silva.

The winners of the Men’s Over 35 singles, Men’s and Women’s Veterans’ Over 40 Singles and Doubles, Men’s  Over 50, 55, 60 and 65 Singles and Doubles were also decided on the final day of the event, which was dubbed one of the biggest tournaments in the history of Sri Lankan badminton. 

In addition to those, the Boys’ and Girls’ Under 11, Under 13, Under 15, Under 17 and Under 19 Singles and Doubles winners were crowned apart from the unique Family Mixed Doubles at the end of the nine-day ranking tournament.

A record number of more than 1,450 shuttlers took part in this year’s SSC Open. The tournament was organised by the SSC and conducted by Sri Lanka Badminton according to BWF rules and regulations.