Dimuth, Hasaranga, Chameera included in ICC teams of the year

Friday, 21 January 2022 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Dimuth Karunaratne
Wanindu Hasaranga
Dushmantha Chameera

Three Sri Lankan cricketers have been included in the ICC’s teams of the year in both red and white-ball formats for 2021.

Dimuth Karunaratne gets a place as opener in the Men’s Test Team of the Year, while leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga has been included in the Men’s T20I as well as the Men’s ODIs ICC Teams of the Year. Fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera finds a place in the Men’s ODIs ICC Team of the Year.

Following his stellar form in 2021, Pakistan’s gun batsman Babar Azam leads the ICC’s teams of the year in both limited-overs formats.

The Test side, meanwhile, is comprised of a core of five players who were involved in the first ever Championship final – Kane Williamson, who led New Zealand to glory, Rohit Sharma, who top-scored for India on their tour of England, Rishabh Pant, who was the architect of the Brisbane miracle, R. Ashwin, who dominated India’s home season, and Kyle Jamieson, who was Player of the Match in the final.

Joe Root, who amassed 1708 Test runs in 2021, adds further weight to the batting line-up alongside the No. 1 ranked Marnus Labuschagne and one of the few top-performing openers in recent times – Dimuth Karunaratne.


ICC teams of the year

  • Men’s Tests: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Kane Williamson (Capt.), 4 Joe Root, 5 Marnus Labuschagne, 6 Fawad Alam, 7 Rishabh Pant (wk), 8 R. Ashwin, 9 Kyle Jamieson, 10 Hasan Ali, 11 Shaheen Afridi.

  • Men’s T20Is: 1 Jos Buttler, 2 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 3 Babar Azam (Capt.), 4 Aiden Markram, 5 Mitchell Marsh, 6 David Miller, 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Tabraiz Shamsi, 9 Josh Hazlewood, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Shaheen Afridi.

  • Men’s ODIs: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Janneman Malan, 3 Babar Azam (Capt.), 4 Fakhar Zaman, 5 Rassie van der Dussen, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Mustafizur Rahman, 10 Simi Singh, 11 Dushmantha Chameera.

  • Women’s ODIs: 1 Lizelle Lee, 2 Alyssa Healy (wk), 3 Tammy Beaumont, 4 Mithali Raj, 5 Heather Knight (Capt.), 6 Hayley Matthews, 7 Marizanne Kapp, 8 Shabnim Ismail, 9 Fatima Sana, 10 Jhulan Goswami, 11 Anisa Mohammed.

  • Women’s T20Is: 1 Smriti Mandhana, 2 Tammy Beaumont, 3 Danni Wyatt, 4 Gaby Lewis, 5 Nat Sciver (Capt.), 6 Amy Jones (wk), 7 Laura Wolvaardt, 8 Marizanne Kapp, 9 Sophie Ecclestone, 10 Loryn Phiri, 11 Shabnim Ismail.