Commercial Bank stamp their class

Wednesday, 31 October 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

42nd Mercantile Hockey Sevens 2018


By Shamseer Jaleel

Commercial Bank ‘A’ took home the Dennis De Rosayro Trophy when they beat MAS Holdings 3-1 in the final of the 42nd Mercantile Hockey Association (MHA) Men’s 7-a-side tournament 2018, which took place at the P. Sara Stadium recently.

The Player of the Match was Shevantha Rajapakse (MAS), who was also adjudged Best Goalkeeper. In the ‘B’ Division final for the Singer Trophy, Singer beat Commercial Bank ‘B’ 1-0 on penalties, with the scoreline stuck at 0-0 upon the final whistle.


‘A’ Division - Dennis De Rosayro Trophy:

Champions – Commercial Bank ‘A’

Runners-up - MAS ‘A’

Best Player - Janith Witharana (Commercial Bank)

Best Goalkeeper - Shevantha Rajapaksa (MAS)

‘B’ Division - Singer Trophy:

Champions - Singer Sri Lanka

Runner-up - Commercial Bank ‘B’

Best Player - Indumina Abeysekera (Singer)

 ‘C’ Division - Lifebuoy Trophy:

Champions – Seylan Bank

Runner-up – John Keells Holdings

 Best Player - J. Irshad (Seylan)

‘D’ Division - Edmond J. Cooray Trophy

 Champions - HNB ‘B’

Runners-up - MJF

Best Player – S. Vanadalan (HNB ‘B’)

 ‘E’ Division - Ceylon Cold Stores Trophy:

Champions – Richard Peiris

Runner-up - Ceylon Tobacco

Best Player - Lasantha Perera (Richard Peiris)

 ‘F’ Division - MHA President’s Trophy

Champions - Sampath Bank ‘B’

Runner-up - MAS ‘B’

Best Player - Nuwan Gunasekera (Sampath Bank)