Asian Sevens 2018: Asian Series finalists to get HK Sevens berth

Wednesday, 5 September 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel

The Asia Rugby Sevens Series 2018 will kick off in Hong Kong with the first leg being worked off at the Hong Kong Football Club (HKFC) at Causeway Bay in Hong Kong on 14 and 15 September. 

The three-leg event’s first and second placed teams will qualify for the World Series Sevens qualifier 2019 in Hong Kong. Hong Kong will be a strong contender this time after their gold medal win at the Asian Games in Indonesia last weekend. 

Japan, South Korea and Sri Lanka are the other three teams knocking at the Hong Kong Sevens 2019 door with the top two teams in the three-leg event securing a berth at the world-famous Hong Kong Sevens 2019.

The second leg will take place in South Korea with the third leg scheduled to be played in Sri Lanka. This will be the last year for these three nations as the rotation policy will be applicable.

The following teams are participating in the Asian Sevens in Hong Kong.

Round 1:

Men - Japan, Sri Lanka, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, South Korea, Philippines and Malaysia

Women - Japan, Hong Kong, Thailand, South Korea, China, Kazakhstan, Sri Lanka and Singapore

Round 2: 

In South Korea on 29 and 30 September at the Incheon Namdong Asiad Rugby Field

Round 3: 

In Sri Lanka on 13 and 14 October at the Racecourse Stadium in Colombo