Asalanka, Hasaranga named in ICC Men’s T20 WC Most Valuable team

Tuesday, 16 November 2021 00:08 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Charith Asalanka

Wanindu Hasaranga


ICC: Players from six teams have been named in the Official ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Upstox Most Valuable Team of the Tournament

Stars from champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan as well as the impressive Sri Lanka and South Africa feature in the star-studded line up.

Opening batter David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and seamer Josh Hazlewood all make the cut for Australia after helping steer their side to their first ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title.

There are also spots for England ace Jos Buttler as wicketkeeper, Pakistan’s Babar Azam as Captain, New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult and Sri Lanka star Wanindu Hasaranga – the tournament’s leading wicket-taker – in the line-up.

Sri Lanka’s rising star Asalanka slots in at No. 4 in the batting after his match-winning innings against Bangladesh and West Indies in the Super 12s.

With his team in pursuit of 172 to win, Asalanka cracked a scintillating 80* not out off of just 49 balls to guide Sri Lanka over the line and solidify his reputation as one of his country’s brightest talents.

A further innings of 68 against the West Indies soon followed as Asalanka scored 231 runs at an average of 46.20 throughout the course of the tournament.

Completing the middle order is another Sri Lankan in the form of Hasaranga, who stands tall as the tournament’s leading wicket-taker with a stunning 16 from his eight matches.

The skillful leg-spinner bagged a brilliant hat-trick against South Africa as he dismissed Temba Bavuma, Markram and Dwaine Pretorius – across two separate spells – to etch his name into ICC Men’s T20 World Cup folklore.

A further three wickets against England, bolstered by two apiece against Australia and West Indies, saw him emerge as the most prolific bowler of the tournament and firmly deserving of his place in the Team of the Tournament.

The side was pulled together by a selection panel featuring commentators, former international players and journalists Ian Bishop (Convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth – of Wisden, the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday - and Shahid Hashmi of Agence France Presse and 

ARY Channel.

The team of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 (in batting order) is: 

1. David Warner (Australia) – 289 runs at 48.16

2. Jos Buttler (wk) (England) – 269 runs at 89.66, five dismissals

3. Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) – 303 runs at 60.60

4. Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) – 231 runs at 46.20

5. Aiden Markram (South Africa) – 162 runs at 54.00

6. Moeen Ali (England) – 92 runs at strike rate of 131.42/ seven wickets at 11

7. Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) – 119 runs at strike rate of 148.75/ 16 wickets at 9.75

8. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 13 wickets at 12.07

9. Josh Hazlewood (Australia) – 11 wickets at 15.90

10. Trent Boult (New Zealand) – 13 wickets at 13.30

11. Anrich Nortje (South Africa) – nine wickets at 11.55

12th: Shaheen Afridi – seven wickets at 24.14