Annual Planters Rugby Sevens on 7 April

Monday, 2 April 2018 00:46 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The 18th Planters Rugby Sevens organised by the Darawela Maskeliya Cricket Club (DMCC) will kick off on 7 April at the DMCC grounds. 

Kickoff is scheduled for 8.00 a.m. This annual event in the plantation sector will see the top 12 teams locking horns for top honours. This year›s event is sponsored by Agstar.

Talawakelle Tea Estates will be defending their title with a strong outfit while teams from Maskeliya Plantation, Bogawantalawa Tea Estates, Agalawatte and Pussellawa Plantations Ltd. (combined), Elpitiya Plantations, Hapugasthenne and Udapussalaawa Plantations (combined), Hatton Plantations, Kelani Valley Plantations, Malwatte Valley Plantations, Mathurata Plantation, Namunukula and Kegalle Plantations (combined) and the Sri Lanka State Plantation Corporation will also participate in the competition.

There will be a live band and children’s games corner during the tournament and a gala dinner at the clubhouse to keep the atmosphere lively and supporters happy during the entire day. The DMCC has existed for 140 years within the plantation sector. (SJ)