2016 Mercantile Cricket Sixes on 23-24 July

Friday, 22 July 2016 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The 2016 Mercantile Cricket Sixes, conducted annually by the Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA), is set to be held on 23 and 24 July.

Eighteen teams will take part in the Tier ‘A’ segment (turf matches) while 45 teams will compete in the Tier ‘B’ segment (matting matches).

On 23 July both segments will be conducted on a round robin format. The 18 Tier ‘A’ teams will be pooled into six groups while the 45 Tier ‘B’ teams will be pooled into 15 groups. 

The 18 Tier ‘A’ matches will take place at the MCA and Thurstan College grounds from 8.30 a.m. onwards.

The 45 Tier ‘B’ matches will take place at the grounds of St. Benedict’s College, Wesley College and St. Sebastian’s College as well as the Army Mattegoda Grounds from 8 a.m. onwards. 

Upon completion of the first day’s play, the top six teams will advance to the Tier ‘A’ final round and the top 16 teams will advance to the Tier ‘B’ final round. 

On 24 July, the Tier ‘A’ matches will take place only at the MCA and the Tier B matches will take place at the Thurstan College and Wesley College grounds from 9.00 am onwards. Both finals will be played at the MCA grounds.

The special awards offered for both segments are for the Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Most Sixes, Man of the Final and Man of the Tournament. 

The 18 teams playing in the Tier ‘A’ segment are the Sri Lanka Schools U-19 team, who will be defending the title they won last year; HNB (2015 runners-up), Sampath Bank ‘A’ & ‘B’, MAS Active, DIMO, Mobitel, Nations Trust Bank ‘A’, PABC Bank, HSBC, Peoples Leasing & Finance, Colombo Dockyard, JL Morison, MAS Silueta “A” , Singer Sri Lanka and LB Finance.

MAS Silueta “B” will defend the tier “B” title; Stafford Motors was the 2015 runners-up.

Spectators are definitely assured of two days of hectic cricket with 63 teams, consisting 85 matches at six venues.