CILT Sri Lanka holds successful AGM under COVID-19 guidelines

Monday, 3 May 2021 01:06 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Seated from left:

H.A. Premarathne, FCILT, Maithree Attanayake, CMILT (Hon. Secretary), Gayani De Alwis, CMILT (Immediate Past Chairperson), Dr. Y.M.M.S. Bandara, CMILT (Vice President), Channaka De Alwis, CMILT, (President), Chaminda Perera, CMILT (Vice President), Niral Kadawataarachchi, FCILT (IVP South Asia), Ravi Edirisinghe, CMILT (Hon. Treasurer), Ibrahim Saleem, CMILT (Vice President), Upali Gunawardena, FCILT

Standing from left: 

Dr. Priyangani Jayasundare, CMILT, Dr. Renuka Herath, CMILT, Thamara Harshani, CMILT, Vijitha Weerasinghe, CMILT, Chandima Hulangamuwa, CMILT, Dr. H.R. Pasindu, CMILT, Dhashma Karunarathne, CMILT, Shamith Wijethilake, CMILT, H.K. Henry De Silva, CMILT, J.I.D. Jayasundara, CMILT, Upul Jayatissa, CMILT, Saveen Gunarathne, CMILT (Not present- Gihan Jayasinghe, CMILT, Chanaka Gunathilake, CMILT)



The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) Sri Lanka held its 37th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 31 March at the National Chamber of Commerce of Sri Lanka amidst stringent health precautions. 

Channaka de Alwis, CMILT, was re-elected in an uncontested election to serve a second term as President of CILT Sri Lanka. Along with Channaka, three Vice Presidents were elected for the year 2021/22. They are: Dr. Y.M.M.S. Bandara, CMILT, Ibrahim Saleem, CMILT, and Chaminda Perera, CMILT. Maithree Attanayake, CMILT was elected as the Hon. Secretary and Ravi Edirisinghe, CMILT was elected as the Hon. Treasurer.

The following members were elected to serve in the CILT Sri Lanka Council for the year 2021/22: H.A. Premarathne, FCILT; Upali Gunawardena, FCILT; Gihan Jayasinghe, CMILT; H.K. Henry De Silva, CMILT; Chandima Hulangamuwa, CMILT; Dhashma Karunarathne, CMILT; Chanaka Gunathilake, CMILT; Dr. Priyangani Jayasundare, CMILT; Vijitha Weerasinghe, CMILT; Dr. Renuka Herath, CMILT; Shamith Wijethilake, CMILT; Dr. H.R. Pasindu, CMILT; Upul Jayatissa, CMILT; J.I.D. Jayasundara, CMILT; Thamara Harshani, CMILT; and Saveen Gunarathne, CMILT. 

After taking over for the second term, De Alwis thanked his predecessors and the past-Councils for the tremendous work they have done to raise the stature and standing of CILT Sri Lanka. He further went on to comment that he wishes to raise the visibility and enhance the reputation of CILT Sri Lanka, and make use of the institution positively to contribute to shaping national policies that impact the logistics and transport sector. 

His comments also touched on the global impact of COVID-19 and how it has caused much anxiety and uncertainty. He pointed out that the pandemic has changed the way the world looks at logistics and transport with consumers embracing online services faster than industry and service providers are able to meet their demands. Thus, he highlighted the urgency of adapting to new trends and environments as one of the fundamental challenges for this industry. He urged new thinking and collaboration, and requested all members of CILT Sri Lanka to create a sustainable social dialogue within the nation.

Using the recent events surrounding the crisis on the Suez Canal, Channaka de Alwis proclaimed that the ‘21st century is the century of the ocean,’ and that Sri Lanka’s maritime economy must be developed to harness optimal returns from inherent potential. He called for a development of human resource as it plays ‘a decisive role in the process of claiming our stake in the global maritime trade.’

CILT Sri Lanka looks forward to an eventful year, bringing together the membership from all walks, from individual to corporate partners, and from students to industry champions. Finally, whilst wishing a successful year to the new Council and Office Bearers, the President of CILT Sri Lanka called for the continued support of the Secretariat, Corporate Partners, Exco and members of WiLAT and NextGen, and all the members present and online, to take CILT Sri Lanka to new heights in the future.