SLARDAR and CEAT crown racetrack champions

Thursday, 2 December 2010 02:20 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The dashing drivers and riders who enthralled local racing enthusiasts with their heroics throughout this year’s Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) racing season were honoured at the glitzy CEAT-SLARDAR Championship awards night on Saturday 27th November.

Army Commander Lt. General Jagath Jayasuriya was the Chief Guest at the event.

A total of 13 awards, including the four coveted 2010 Championship awards and nine awards for supporting events were presented at this year’s ceremony supported by CEAT, the country’s top tyre brand. Besides sponsoring the 2010 SLARDAR Championship, CEAT also sponsored or co-sponsored five SLARDAR events this racing season.

Stand-out performances at the Sigiriya, Fox Hill, Cavalry, Gajaba, and Gunners Supercross events, the Radella Hill Climb and the Rotherham Circuit Meet were taken into account in choosing this year’s CEAT SLARDAR champions.

The top performing four drivers and riders who bagged the top awards at the awards night were Aravinda Premadasa (SL-GT Cars up to 3500 cc), Pasindu Peiris (SL-H Cars up to 1600 cc), Gayan Sandaruwan (MX Racing Motorcross bikes up to 250 cc) and Shanuka Sandaruwan (MX Racing Motorcross bikes up to 85 cc -- under 16 years).

Speaking at the event, SLARDAR President Rodney Mason noted: “CEAT’s generous support to racing in Sri Lanka is appreciated by all racing enthusiasts in the country. It has been a pleasure and privilege to work with a sponsor of the calibre of CEAT.”