IATA e-freight expands to 32 countries

Sunday, 14 November 2010 21:09 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Bogota - The International Air Transport Association (IATA) announced last week the dawn of a new era for the air cargo supply chain in Colombia. E-freight for imports and exports went live in Colombia on 31 October and is operational at Bogota El Dorado International Airport.  

E-freight is one of the IATA Simplifying the Business projects that improve service and cut costs to the Air Cargo Industry. It aims to take the paper out of the air cargo supply chain. Facilitated by IATA, the project is an industry-wide initiative involving customs authorities, carriers, freight forwarders, ground handlers and shippers. E-freight effectively eliminates the need to send paper documents with air cargo shipments, hence streamlining processes, improving speed and reliability and cutting costs.

The Colombian e-freight implementation team was led by LAN Colombia Cargo and Iberia Airlines in close cooperation with Customs DIAN, Aviation Authorities represented by Aeronáutica Civil and all stakeholders across the supply chain.

 Local forwarders involved are DHL Global Forwarding, and Translago.  The team started working in May 2009, delivering IATA export and import e-freight on schedule.

Colombia is the 32nd e-freight country worldwide to deliver paper-free cargo.  Also LAN Colombia Cargo and Iberia Airlines at Bogota El Dorado International airport became both in the pioneers airlines and airports in Latin America to implement the e-freight international standard. This represents a great effort of the aviation industry and places as Colombia and Chile as pioneers in the region.

 IATA aims to build on the success at Bogota Airport and implement e-freight export and import in all airports, airlines and forwarders in Colombia, enhancing the competitiveness of the country.

Today E-freight is also operational in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dubai, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritius, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States.