UPFA unveils new ‘Power the Nation’ slogan

Friday, 17 July 2015 00:58 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

BUP_DFT_DFT-2-6SLFP Deputy Ministers Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Erick Weerawardane today resigned from their ministerial portfolios. They said that their resignations were “to contribute to the future of the SLFP.” Addressing a news conference, they said they had tendered their resignations to the President yesterday


By Senuri de Silva 

The UPFA yesterday unveiled its new slogan ‘Let’s Power the Nation’ in a bid to strengthen its prospects at next month’s general election. 

The launch comes ahead of the UPFA’s inaugural rally in Anuradhapura today following religious observances at the Temple of the Tooth in Kandy. 

“The country has become lifeless in the last six months hence the ‘Let’s Power the Nation. Let’s Start Afresh’ slogan,” said former MP Wimal Weerawansa. “We are promising new life to the country in 2015, as it had in 2005, with the return of the former President to power,” the UPFA member added.


Dullas claims Maithri is undemocratic; warns of political tsunami 

Former MP Dullas Alahapperuma yesterday alleged that President Maithripala Sirisena was undemocratic.

“The President said that Mahinda Rajapaksha would not win. He stated that even if he won, Mahinda Rajapaksa would not be appointed as the prime minister. Is this democracy?” queried Alahapperuma yesterday at a UPFA media briefing.

The former MP said if the former President was so denied his appointment, they would not be able to avoid a ‘political tsunami’ similar to some of the darkest periods in Sri Lankan political history, specifically the riots of 1971 and 1989. 

Alahaperuma also said that he was distressed by the fact that his Party Leader was protecting a member of an opposing party, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. “This is unprecedented in any advanced political landscape,” added the former MP.  

The SLFP has also decided to take action against six members who have decided to contest the 17 August general election under the Elephant symbol.