Parliament sets up committee to introduce a code of conduct for MPs

Wednesday, 27 June 2012 00:40 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

A committee in the Parliament is currently working on preparing a code of conduct for legislators.

The Parliamentary Committee on Discipline, Propriety, Traditions and Security was appointed by the Speaker to introduce measures to be adopted to instill discipline among legislators and bring order into the House.

The committee headed by Senior Minister D.E.W. Gunasekera includes Karu Jayasuriya, Rauf Hakeem, R. Sampanthan, P. Dayaratne, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa and Wijedasa Rajapakse.

Gunasekera told ColomboPage that the committee is preparing a code of conduct for the parliamentarians.

He said the committee is looking at proposing the allocation of more powers to the Speaker to control the MPs and call on party leaders to play a more active role in controlling legislators in the House.

He added that the committee is also considering making certain proposals to control MPs from behaving in an unruly manner outside the legislature.

According to Gunasekera, one of the key areas the committee is focused on is the need to amend the law that prevents the public from making a direct complaint against an MP to the Speaker.