Two new Mahaweli Divisions announced in Ratnapura District

Tuesday, 11 June 2024 01:21 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Irrigation, Wildlife and Forest Conservation Minister Pavitra Vanniarachchi yesterday revealed that steps have been taken to announce two new Mahaweli Divisions namely Godakawela and Weligepola by merging 72 Grama Niladhari Divisions belonging to five Divisional Secretariats of Ratnapura District.

There are 37 Grama Niladhari Divisions in Godakawela Divisional Secretariat Division, 30 Grama Niladhari Divisions in Weligepola Divisional Secretariat Division, 02 Grama Niladhari Divisions in Opanayake Divisional Secretariat Division, 02 Grama Niladhari Divisions in Balangoda Divisional Secretariat Division and 01 Grama Niladhari Division in Kalthota Divisional Secretariat Division. Godakawela and Weligepola are to be developed as new Mahaweli Divisions under Walawa Special region of Sri Lanka Mahaweli Authority by combining them as 72 Grama Niladhari Divisions.

Under the Sri Lanka Mahaweli Authority Act, the Walawa Mahaweli Special region was declared by Gazette No. 137 dated 16 April 1981.

But some areas of the Mahaweli Walawa region have not yet taken steps for development activities.

Minister Vanniarachchi points out that she was continuously requested by representatives of Buddhist temples, voluntary organisations and farmers’ organisations to redevelop those undeveloped areas and strengthen the livelihood of the people.

The Minister said that considering those requests, Godakawela and Weligepola were announced as new Mahaweli Divisions.