Spark ’18, SL’s largest innovation exhibition, kicks off today

Tuesday, 25 September 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

With over 700 innovations on display, Spark ’18, an innovation and invention exhibition organised by Royal College, will take centre stage from 25 to 28 September at the Royal College premises. 

Dubbed as the largest innovation exhibition to take place in Sri Lanka, Spark ’18 will have a variety of innovations and inventions conceptualised by school children from the ages of eight to 18, with the aim of inculcating an innovative culture amongst them. 

The exhibition will not only showcase innovations from students of Royal College, but will also display the innovative talents of over 150 students representing many schools across the country. Partnering Spark ’18 as a strategic partner, the Sri Lanka Inventors Commission, the apex body to promote innovation in Sri Lanka, will feature at the exhibition the country’s top 10 inventions selected through an island-wide competition. 

Spark ’18 has also got on board the Sri Lanka Army, the Sri Lanka Navy and the Sri Lanka Air Force to showcase their innovations as well as research and development projects through which they are changing the lives of many. 

Dialog Axiata PLC, the Principal Sponsor powering Spark ’18, will host a Future Pavilion at the exhibition, featuring the latest innovations and trends in the ICT arena, and will give visitors an opportunity to engage with such new technology. The exhibition’s Technological Partner Microsoft Sri Lanka will also conduct a series of seminars for students on innovative technologies as well as present some of its breakthrough technologies. 

Apart from Dialog and Microsoft, Spark ’18 has Elephant House as the official Food and Beverage Partner, HNB as the Banking Partner, National Lotteries Board and Development Lotteries Board as Co-Sponsors and Softwave as the Printing Partner.

Spark ’18 will be open to the public from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on all exhibition days and is endorsed by the Presidential Secretariat, the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Science, Technology and Research, Skills Development and Vocational Training and the Ministry of Finance and Mass Media.