Seven new political parties enter Sri Lankan politics 

Saturday, 3 December 2022 01:17 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Election Commission of Sri Lanka has acknowledged seven new parties as recognised political parties in Sri Lanka. 

Releasing the names of the new parties, the Commission said they were chosen to be acknowledged as parties from those that submitted applications to the Commission at the beginning of this year. 

The parties so acknowledged were the United Congress Party, Dewana Parapura, Sri Lankawe Samaja Prajathanthrawadi Pakshaya, Deshapremi Eksath Jathika Pakshaya, Bahujana Wiyath Peramuna, Eros Democratic Front and the Democratic People’s Congress. 

Dewana Parapura in particular is led by Uvindu Wijeweera, the son of Rohana Wijeweera, founder of the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP). 

All applications submitted were examined by a special committee appointed by the Elections Commission. The political parties found to be eligible were also subjected to a special interview. 

Along with the new parties, Sri Lanka currently now has 86 political parties in total. Out of these six registered political parties with legal issues are considered inactive political parties.

Last year only three parties, namely the Tamil Makkal Kuttani party, the New Lanka Freedom Party, and the Tamil Progressive Alliance were allowed to register.