Ranil elected President

Wednesday, 20 July 2022 14:26 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

UNP leader and Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe was today elected as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka with 134 votes via secret ballot by MPs. His dominant contender MP Dullas Alahaperuma secured only 82 votes. JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake managed mere 3 votes. Today's secret poll saw 223 MPs voting. Two abstained and four votes were invalid. Wickremesinghe will serve the remainder of ousted Gotabaya Rajapaksa's term till end 2024.