Kuwait suspends travel from SL

Wednesday, 12 May 2021 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Kuwait has imposed travel restrictions on several South Asian countries including Sri Lanka, with immediate effect.

The country has announced it has decided to stop all flight arrivals from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Nepal and Sri Lanka until further notice.

State news agency KUNA said on Monday that Kuwait has suspended flights, and barred entry to travellers, from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka until further notice, to try to contain the spread of the coronavirus.

The decision by the Gulf State’s Cabinet did not include cargo flights.

To enter Kuwait from the four countries, people must have been in another country for at least 14 days beforehand, the statement said.

Kuwait last week announced it would ban citizens who have not been vaccinated against COVID-19 from traveling abroad from 22 May.