Australian High Commissioner congratulates Australia Awards recipients

Saturday, 7 May 2022 01:25 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Forty-five Sri Lankans have been congratulated by the Australian High Commissioner to Sri Lanka David Holly for being selected to receive a prestigious Australia Awards master’s degree scholarship at Australian universities.

Education is central to the relationship between Australia and Sri Lanka, helping to also maintain the deep people-to-people linkages that benefit both countries. “As Sri Lanka and Australia celebrate 75 years of diplomatic relations, recognition of Australia Awardees reminds us of the valuable role education plays in the bilateral relationship,” said Holly at a reception at Movenpick Hotel, Colombo on 4 May.

“The opportunity of world class education from one of many globally ranked Australian universities has assisted Australia to be a top destination for Sri Lankan students looking to study abroad.  I am delighted that secondary, vocational and university courses are also being offered in Sri Lanka through 31 partnerships with Australian education providers,” added Holly.

The 45 recipients of Australia Awards for 2022 will undertake master’s degrees at Australia’s top universities in the fields of Health Security, Stability and Economic Recovery.

Over 100 people attended the event, including members of the Australian Alumni and Alumni of Sri Lanka Association of Australia Awards Alumni (SLAAAA). The SLAAAA provides an opportunity for Awardees to network and interact after they return from studies in Australia. The Chief Guest at the reception was Ajith Abeysekera of the External Resources Department. 

For many years, scholarships have formed an important part of Australia’s development assistance to Sri Lanka, initially under the Colombo Plan. The Australian Government offers Australia Awards to Sri Lankans on an annual basis. 

The 2023 application round for Australia Awards scholarships closed on 29 April. Please visit the Australia Awards website or for details on the 2024 Australia Awards and other learning opportunities.