Association of Former International Civil Servants elects new committee

Tuesday, 21 November 2023 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Seated from left: FAO Former President Ranjith Seneviratne, WHO Former President Dr. Adrian Senadhira, AFICS President Amb. Dr. Dayantha Laksiri Mendis, (UN/DTCD, ICAO, CFTC and UNDP), Immediate Past President Dr. Nimal Hettiaratchy, (UNICEF, UNFPA, and UNDP), and UNICEF Secretary-General Dr. Soma de Silva

Standing from left: CFTC Committee Member K.M.D. Gunaratne, UNHCR Treasurer Thilak Dias Abeysinghe, Vice President A.H.M. Farook. Absent – Committee Member Amb. Dr. Lal Kurukulasuriya (UNEP), Committee Member Dr. Kamini Mendis (WHO), Committee Member Lakshman Wickramasinghe (UNICEF), Committee Member Vitus Fernando (IUCN, ADB, WMO), and Committee Member Jeeva Pillai Essex (UNDP, ADB, WB), Committee Member Hema Dassanayake (WHO), Assistant Secretary and Editor George Michael (WFP and FAO), Committee Member T.S.A. de Silva (UNCTAD) and Committee Member Prof. Tuley de Silva (UNIDO)

The Association of Former International Civil Servants (AFICS) recently elected a new set of office bearers. AFICS was initiated by UNCTAD former Secretary-General, the late Dr. Gamani Corea, and ably supported by UN Under-Secretary-General, the late Amb. Dr. Jayantha Dhanapala, and late Amb. Dr. Vernon L.B. Mendis (UNESCO) in the early phase of the Association. This Association has undertaken many charitable activities such as providing support for autistic children, providing spectacles and healthcare for senior citizens. 

AFICS will continue to publish a magazine on the UN System and hold meetings relevant to its members. Anyone who has served the United Nations or any other international organisation and is interested in joining AFICS may apply to the Secretary-General Dr. Soma de Silva (UNICEF) and UNIDO Vice President Ranjith Withana.