Tourism Minister appoints 9-member Steering Committee for global promotional campaign

Wednesday, 17 February 2021 00:24 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Charumini de Silva 

Prasanna Ranatunga

Tourism Minister Prasanna Ranatunga has appointed a nine-member, high-powered Steering Committee for Strategic Management of Global Promotional Campaign.

The members are Tourism Ministry Secretary S. Hettiarachchi, Sri Lanka Tourism Chairperson Kimarli Fernando, Sri Lanka Tourism Promotion Bureau (SLTPB) Acting MD Madhubani Perera, Tourism Advisory Committee Chairman Hiran Cooray, Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators President Thilak Weerasinghe, The Hotels Association President Sanath Ukwatte, Tourism Advisory Committee Member Rajitha Dahanayake and Tourism Minister’s Representative Nimesh Herath.

The committee is tasked to ensure a successful global campaign to promote Sri Lanka Tourism by providing the necessary advice to SLTPB for the planning and monitoring process of the campaign.

Industry leaders yesterday welcomed the move, claiming that there had been no proper global destination promotions during the past six years.

In April 2020, Cabinet approved a critical five-year traveller-focused and evidence-based global promotion for Sri Lanka, whilst at present the global campaign is centred around the “So Sri Lanka” theme. 


BIA and Mattala fee waiver for airlines extended till July