Special salary hike to non-executive Govt. employees who defied call to strike

Wednesday, 10 July 2024 00:28 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


President Ranil Wickremesinghe

Non-executive Government employees, who reported for duty on 8 and 9 July 2024, will receive a special salary increment as a token of appreciation for their dedication amid over 200 public sector trade unions engaging in a two-day strike by reporting ‘sick’. 

The move underscores the Government’s appreciation of the public sector’s role in maintaining stability and continuity during economic reforms and its ongoing efforts to support and motivate dedicated public servants.

This increment was approved by the Cabinet of Ministers following a proposal by President Ranil Wickremesinghe in his capacity as the Finance, Economic Stabilisation and National Policies Minister. Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government Ministry Secretary was directed to inform all Ministry Secretaries, Department Heads and Provincial Chief Secretaries and to issue the relevant circulars. 

Despite previous economic instability, the Government managed to stabilise the situation through extensive economic reforms implemented over the last two years, including the provision of a monthly allowance of Rs. 10,000 to all public servants. 

The Treasury Secretary highlighted the existing financial constraints, stating that further salary or allowance increases would not be feasible without imposing additional tax burdens on the public. 

The Government remains committed to avoiding decisions that could worsen the financial strain on citizens already facing economic challenges. 

Nonetheless, the Government acknowledges its responsibility to recognise and assess non-executive officials who fulfilled their duties without resorting to disruptive measures during this critical period. Instructions will be issued in a circular to all Ministry Secretaries, Department Heads, and Provincial Chief Secretaries in the presence of the Secretary of the Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils, and Local Government.