Parliament passes new Electricity Bill with 44 majority votes

Friday, 7 June 2024 03:06 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The new Electricity Bill was passed in Parliament yesterday with amendments garnering a majority of 44 votes. 

The Bill drew 103 votes in favour and 59 against at the end of the day’s debate.

Earlier this week, the Supreme Court had identified certain clauses in the Bill that violated the Constitution, necessitating a special two-thirds majority in Parliament if the bill remained in its current form. However, the Court noted that these inconsistencies would be resolved if the recommended amendments were adopted.

Power and Energy Minister Kanchana Wijesekera informed Parliament that the Government would incorporate the amendments suggested by the Supreme Court, allowing the Bill to be passed with a simple majority. The Committee Stage of the Bill is currently underway, with amendments being introduced to ensure compliance with the constitutional requirements.


Electricity ecstasy ahead of election