Nine-member Expert Committee to draft new constitution

Friday, 4 September 2020 00:35 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • Govt. takes first step in drafting new constitution for country to replace that of 1978
  • Expert Committee led by Romesh De Silva P.C.
  • Legal luminaries and academics as other members

A nine-member Expert Committee has been appointed to prepare the preliminary draft for a new constitution.

Cabinet approval for the appointment of the committee was given on Wednesday after taking into consideration a proposal presented by Justice Minister Ali Sabry.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has pledged to replace the 1978 Constitution with a new one and the appointment of the Expert Committee is the first in an exhaustive process that would be required to draft a new constitution for the country.

The Expert Committee consists of several legal luminaries and leading academics and will be chaired by President’s Counsel Romesh De Silva.

Its other members are Gamini Marapana P.C., Manohara De Silva P.C., Sanjeewa Jayawardena P.C, Samantha Ratwatte P.C, Prof. Naazima Kamardeen, Dr. A .Sarveswaran, Prof. Wasantha Seneviratne and Prof. G.H. Peiris.


All-powerful Executive returns via 20A

President stands by recent appointments despite pressure