Upali appointed to Seylan Bank Board

Monday, 16 June 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation Chairman Upali Dharmadasa has been appointed to the Board of Seylan Bank Plc as a Non Executive Director. SLIC owns a 15% stake Seylan Bank. The previous nominee of SLIC on the Seylan Board was Mohan De Alwis. Dharmadasa is a high profile industrialist with strong leadership qualities, proven strategic abilities and an inherent and abiding interest in all matters concerning business and cricket. He counts over 32 years of experience in higher management. He is also Managing Director of Nawaloka Group of Companies which consists of Nawaloka Piling Ltd., Nawaloka Timber Stores, Nawaloka Polysacks Ltd., Nawaloka Industries Ltd., New Nawaloka Trading Ltd., Nawaloka Developments Ltd. and Nawaloka Restaurant Ltd. He also holds the position of President Sri Lanka Timber Merchant Association. In the diplomatic field, Dharmadasa is the Honorary Consul General for the Kingdom of Morocco in Sri Lanka. His involvement at the administrative level at Sri Lanka Cricket started in 1989 when he served as a Vice President of the Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka (BCCSL). He is the immediate past President of Sri Lanka Cricket. Dharmadasa has also served as a Director of the Industrial Development Board. He is an old boy of Ananda College and has completed higher education at Wandsowrth Technical College, UK With the latest appointment, the Board of Seylan Bank Plc comprises Nihal Jayamanne PC (Chairman), Ishara Nanayakkara (Deputy Chairman), B.A.J.G. Peiris, W.D.K. Jayawardena, S.P.S. Ranatunga, P.L.S.K. Perera, M.C. Pietersz, H.I. Balapatabendi and H.K.U. Dharmadasa.