Banker’s Technical Advisory Committee announces general membership for 2014

Tuesday, 29 April 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sriyan Cooray, Chief Operating Officer, HSBC Sri Lanka and the Maldives was appointed Chairman of the Banker’s Technical Advisory Committee (BTAC). He succeeds Nanda Fernando, (Chief Operating Officer, Sampath Bank) who served as Chairman for the last three years. Amal de Silva, Head of Information Technology, Standard Chartered Bank was re-appointed as Secretary. BTAC was formed over 10 years ago with a membership representing a vibrant cross section of the banking sector in Sri Lanka. Having grown steadily over the last few years, BTAC consists of many senior representatives from local and foreign banks in Sri Lanka. The association’s main focus is to promote a forum to discuss various complex technical aspects of banking and to promote and maintain a robust banking environment with the support of the Sri Lanka Bankers Association (SLBA). The new BTAC membership is as follows: Sriyan Cooray - Chairman (Chief Operating Officer – HSBC Sri Lanka and the Maldives), Amal De Silva – Secretary (Head of Information Technology – Standard Chartered Bank), Nanda Fernando (Chief Operating Officer – Sampath Bank), Sobitha Weerasekera (Head of Information Technology – Peoples Bank), Buwanekabahu Perera – (Vice President/Head of Corporate Banking – National Development Bank PLC), Shanaka Perera (Assistant General Manager – Treasury/Senior Dealer, Seylan Bank PLC), M.S. Murali (Vice President, Operations & Systems – State Bank of India), Nimal Ratnayake (Head of Compliance & Operational Risk – Pan Asia Bank), Mohamed Azam Naeem (Senior Vice President, Head of Operations – MCB Bank), Arjuna Ratnasabapathy (Assistant General Manager Corporate Banking – HNB), Palitha Perera (Assistant General Manager – Operations, Commercial Bank) and Senarath Bandara (Deputy General Manager Product and Development Banking – Bank of Ceylon).