Institute of Internal Auditors appoints Executive Committee for 2017/18

Tuesday, 31 October 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) Sri Lanka Chapter was held at the Organization for Professional Associations of Sri Lanka (OPA) Auditorium recently. The election of the Executive Committee members for the year 2017/18 was included in the agenda for the day. Hemas Holdings PLC General Manager – Risk and Control Prasenna Balachandran was appointed as the President to provide leadership to the appointed committee. The theme for 2017/18, ‘Engage & Energize’, was also introduced to the gathering by the elected President.

The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is an international professional association, established in 1941 with global headquarters in Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA. The IIA is the largest organisation representing the interests of the profession and provides ethical and professional guidance, continuing education, and certifications such as Chief Internal Auditor (CIA), Certification in Control Self-Assessment (CCSA), Certified Financial Services Auditor (CFSA), Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP) and Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA) to nearly 195,000 members in over 170 countries and territories.

Members of the IIA Sri Lanka 2017-18 Executive Committee:

President: Prasenna Balachandran – Hemas Holdings PLC; Vice President: Sanjeewa Wickramasinghe – Laugfs Group; Secretary: Chiran Wijesinghe – Hirdaramani Group; Asst. Secretary: Mohamed Aashath – Hemas Hospitals Group; Treasurer: Shermal Manamendra – Prima Group and Asst. Treasurer: Tharindra Peiris – LOLC Group.

Committee members: Indunil Suranga – Brandix Lanka Ltd., Numair Cassim – Amana Bank PLC, Nethra Niroshanie Jayawarna Fernando – Commercial Bank PLC, Brian Gourdian – Ernst & Young Chartered Accountants, Kalyani Gunatilake – Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Manula Thilakaratne – Practicing Accountant and Niroshana Seneviratne – HNB PLC.

Governors: Dharshana Desilva – Prima Group, Thivanka Jayasinghe – PricewaterhouseCoopers, Nimal Gunawardena – Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Aloka Kasthuriarachchi – Union Assurance PLC and Majintha Illankone – Prima Group.

Administrative Secretary: Buwinika Halvitige – Hemas Holdings PLC