Cargills Bank excels with 3 awards at LankaPay Technovations Awards 2018

Tuesday, 23 October 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Best Application for Retail Payments - Acquirer Bank. From left: Cargills Bank Limited Alternate Channels Manager Kalani Edirisooriya and IT Delivery Channels Manager Asanka Mahanama receiving the award from Central Bank of Sri Lanka Governor Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy. Also pictured (from left): UPay Digital Product Owner Rashindu Croos, UPay CEO Asela Wickremesooriya, LankaClear Ltd. Chairman Anil Amarasuriya and LankaClear Ltd GM/CEO Channa De Silva.


Best Common ATM Acquirer of the Year. From left: Cargills Bank IT Delivery Channels Limited Manager Asanka Mahanama receiving the award from Novus Technologies Ltd. President & CEO Ricardos Khoury. Also pictured (from left): former LankaClear Ltd. Chairman Sarath N Silva, Singapore Fintech Association President and Keynote Speaker Chia Hock Lai, and LankaClear Ltd. GM/CEO Channa De Silva.


Bank of the Year for Financial Inclusivity. From left: Cargills Bank Limited AGM (Operations) K Balachandrarajan, Cargills Bank Limited Senior Manager (IT Application Development) Indika Fernando, Central Bank of Sri Lanka Director and Assistant Governor R A A Jayalath, Telecommunication, Digital Infrastructure and Foreign Employment Ministry Secretary Chulananda Perera, former LankaClear Ltd. Chairperson Priyantha


Cargills Bank won three awards at the recently concluded LankaPay Technovations Awards 2018. The bank secured merit awards for ‘Best application for Retail Payments – Acquirer Bank’, ‘Bank of the Year for Financial Inclusivity – Category C’, and ‘Best Common ATM Acquirer of the Year – Category C’. Cargills Bank was also one of three nominees for the ‘Most Innovative Bank of the Year’ with Sampath Bank PLC and Commercial Bank PLC.

The event was organised by Lanka Clear Ltd. to recognise banks, non-banking financial institutions and Fintechs for their excellence and commitment to digital adoption, and held under the patronage of State Minister for Finance Eran Wickramaratne; Telecommunication, Digital Infrastructure and Foreign Employment Deputy Minister Manusha Nanayakkara; and Central Bank Governor Dr. Indrajith Coomaraswamy.

Speaking on these achievements, Cargills Bank Chief Operating Officer Rohan Muttiah said: “We are honoured to have been recognised through these prestigious awards at such an early stage of serving our customers. Being recognised as one of the three nominees for ‘Most Innovative Bank of the Year’ is a reflection of our passion for banking on the human spirit, and underlines the trust placed in us by our valuable customers. We are a strong believer in the national initiatives of Lanka Pay, and will continue to support these initiatives as we extend banking to all Sri Lankans.” 

Cargills is a brand that has been faithfully serving Sri Lankans for 174 years, built on a foundation of values and ethics.  True to this heritage and the ethos of ‘Banking on the Human Spirit’, Cargills Bank is taking banking to the masses by being inclusive and accessible. The amazing Cargills Cash Savings Account is available at over 370 Cargills Food City outlets, allowing you to do grocery shopping and banking at the same place at your convenience. The Cargills Bank Credit Card with special offers is now a must-have for discerning customers.   Cargills Bank is a fully-fledged licensed commercial bank with a BB (lka) Fitch Rating.

Cargills Bank’s Head Office is in Colpetty, with branches at Maitland Crescent, Maharagama, Old Moor Street, Wattala, Rajagiriya, Kandy, Peradeniya, Nuwara Eliya, Ratnapura, Thanamalwila, Matara, Galle, Kurunegala, Chilaw, Kaduruwela, Vavuniya, Chunnakam and Jaffna.