Hambantota District Chamber recognises best traders associations

Thursday, 29 September 2016 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

untitled-1 untitled-2


For the first time, the Hambantota District Chamber of Commerce organised the ‘Hambantota District Best Traders Association 2015-2016’ with 18 trade associations. 

The awards ceremony was held in parallel to the Annual General Meeting of the Hambantota District Chamber of Commerce on the 24 September at Singapore Hall. Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Dilip Wedaarachchchi and Minister of Southern Province H. W. Gunasena participated, the latter as Chief Guest. 

Alliance Finance Ltd. Assistant General Manager Susil Liyanage delivered a speech to the business people in the Hambantota District towards changing their attitudes and mindsets, encouraging them to reap the maximum benefit from opportunities.

The objective of the 

competition was:

nIdentification of the Trade and Sectoral Associations throughout the district, through evaluation, encouragement, and acknowledgement

  • Providing the opportunity to enter into self-assessment of how to run an association
  • Encouraging entrepreneurs in terms of social duties and responsibilities
  • The winners were selected by a nominated judge panel and were chosen based on activities conducted and quality of activities over the period 2015 – 2016.
  • Winners are as follows:
  •    Most Active Trade association: Hambantota Trade Association
  • Best President: N. T. Manjula Nishantha from the Tissamaharama Trade Association.
  • Best Secretary: Chamin De Silva from the Tissamaharama Trade Association
  •     Best Treasurer: K. G. Dharminlal from the Tissamaharama Trade association
  •    Special Project: Beliatta Trade Association (Construction of two houses for low income families)
  • Trade Association Evaluation Award: United Trade Association – Weeraketiya