CIM Toastmasters Club steps into the second year

Friday, 8 October 2010 00:05 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The second installation ceremony of CIM Toastmasters Club was held at Galadari Hotel, recently.

The Chief Guest of the ceremony was Roshani Cooray, Chairperson, of the Chartered Institute of Marketing, Sri Lanka Region, while the Guest of Honour was Distinguished Toastmaster M.Z. Saleem, Lgt. Governor Education and Training, Toastmasters District 82.

From left: Seated – Harsha Subhashana, President Elect, CIM Toastmasters Club; Nadi Dharmasiri, Secretary, CIM Sri Lanka Region; Roshani Cooray, Chairperson, CIM Sri Lanka Region; DTM M. Z. Saleem; Lgt. Governor Marketing – Toastmasters District 82; and Priyanka Mendis, Area A3 Governor, Toastmasters District 82 . Standing – Members of CIM Toastmasters Club

Nearly 60 participants representing CIM Sri Lanka Region and Toastmasters attended the ceremony.The Chartered Institute of Marketing Sri Lanka Region launched the Toastmasters Club in April, 2009, with the aim of assisting its members to sharpen their communication and leadership skills. During its inaugural year the club was able to achieve the ‘Distinguished’ status under the leadership of Dayan D.L. Fernando, Charter President, CIM Toastmasters Club.

During the year, the club produced the winners of Humorous, International and Impromptu Speech Contests at Division level and secured the first runner up at the District Level Humorous Speech Contest held in Chennai. Among the other accolades received during the year was the ‘Smedley’s Ribbon’ for outstanding membership growth.

The club also organised an outbound training session with Wild Drift for its members during year and several other networking and fellowship events to strengthen the bond of its membership. An ambitious plan has been drawn for the ensuing year to take the club to the next level while enhancing value created to its members.

The club officer installation was conducted by Division A-3 Governor, Toastmaster Priyanka Mendis. The office bearers for the Toastmaster year 2010/2010 are Harsha Subhashana, President; Sudarshan Subramaniam, VP Education; Irshan Jayah, VP Membership; Wayomi Gunathilaka, VP Public Relations; Keith De Silva, Treasurer; Muditha Hewawanitunga, Secretary; and Dulip Karunatilake, Sergeant-at-Arms.

CIM Sri Lanka Region is proud to be the first to launch a Toastmasters Club in the history of CIM. CIM Sri Lanka Region is the first international branch of the Chartered Institute of Marketing.