IESL celebrates 113th Anniversary

Wednesday, 23 October 2019 03:13 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The 113th Annual Sessions of the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka (IESL) was ceremonially inaugurated on 14 October at the Main Hall, BMICH in the presence of a large gathering of over a thousand participants.

Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) Admiral Ravindra C. Wijegunaratne graced the occasion as the Chief Guest while Sanken Constructions Ltd. Managing Director Eng. Ranjith Gunatilleke was the keynote speaker. Foreign delegates from engineering institutions in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal also participated in the event.

The main highlight of the annual sessions is the official handing over of the mantel of presidency to the incoming president by the outgoing president. This year Eng. (Prof) S.B.S. Abayakoon was elected as the incoming president for the session 2019/2020. 

Eng. (Prof) S.B.S. Abayakoon held the post of Dean of the Faculty of Engineering (2005-2009) followed by the position of Vice-Chancellor of University of Peradeniya (2009-2012). He is also the Inaugural Chairman of the Engineering Council, Sri Lanka, the body specially enacted by an Act of Parliament, in 2017, to regulate Practice of Engineering in Sri Lanka.