‘CMA Excellence in Integrated Reporting Awards – 2017’ applications now open

Monday, 15 May 2017 00:03 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • International Integrated Reporting Council CEO Richard Howitt to deliver keynote address

IN-2The CEO of the International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) Richard Howittwill will deliver the keynote address at the awards presentation ceremony of the ‘CMA Excellence in Integrated Reporting Awards – 2017’ on 17 July at Cinnamon Lake Side, Colombo.

CMA is now accepting applications for a wide range of business sectors namely listed companies, unlisted companies, State-owned enterprises and small and medium enterprises (SME) and the dates for the submission of application forms are as follows:

Banking and Insurance Sector – on or before 15 May 

Other institutions – on or before 12 June 

IIRC CEO Howitt is a former Member of the European Parliament (MEP), serving for over 20 years, and lead-MEP on corporate responsibility. Howitt has represented the EU on many missions worldwide, travelling extensively in Asia, Africa and the Americas. He has represented European interests through numerous international initiatives, including the UN Business and Human Rights Forum and the OECD Forum on Responsible Business Conduct.

In his statement on this flagship event organised by the Institute of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka, he said: “Momentum towards Integrated Reporting is growing around the world, with Asian businesses in particular seeing the value of evolving their reporting practices. Sri Lankan companies are a shining example of this and I am delighted that these awards will give proper recognition to those companies that have taken concrete steps to improve the way they communicate with their key stakeholders. I thank the Institute of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka for putting together such a great agenda to celebrate these achievements and to encourage greater adoption and I very much look forward to participating.”

Apart from Howitt, several other experts in Integrated Reporting from the United Kingdom, South Africa, Singapore and India have accepted to grace the event.

The awards will be presented at the inauguration ceremony of the CMA National Management Accounting Conference and IR Awards on 17 July. The categories of awards are as follows:

10 Excellence in <IR> Awards

Overall Winner – Gold Trophy

Overall 1st Runner-up – Silver Trophy

Overall 2nd Runner-up – Bronze Trophy

Special Award for ‘Conciseness of <IR>’

Certificates of Merit

Sector Awards:


Finance and Insurance

Industry and Commerce

State-owned Enterprises

Small and Medium Enterprises 

For further details please contact CMA <IR> Secretariat Jinandi Chandraratne on 0112-506391/0112-507087 (Ext: 154) or at jinandi.chandraratne@cma-srilanka.org.