Five new UPFA ministers appointed

Saturday, 30 May 2015 01:40 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Five United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) Parliamentarians were yesterday appointed Ministers by President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat. 

The new ministers were Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Chandrasiri Sooriyaarachchi, Hemal Gunasekara and Pandu Bandaranayake. Abeywardena was sworn in as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Bandaranayake as State Minister of Democratic Governance, Siyambalapitiya as State Minister of Environment, Gunasekara as State Minister of Samurdhi and Housing and Sooriyaarachchi as the Deputy Minister of Lands.


The new appointees are Lakshman Yapa – CabinetMinister of Parliamentary Affairs; Pandu Bandaranayake– Minister of State for Public Administration and Democratic Control; Ranjith Siyambalapitiya– Minister of State for Environment; Hemal Gunasekara– Samurdhi Housing and Minister of State; Chandrasiri Sooriyarachchi– Deputy Minister of Lands. Lakshman Yapa and Ranjith Siyambalapitiya already hold ministerial positions - Pic by Presidential Media Unit